Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Advice Needed: 50w LED Bulb in K1300/K1200S?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice Needed: 50w LED Bulb in K1300/K1200S?

Hola, my brothers... Need some advice...

I've been selling these H7 LED bulbs for a couple of years now... http://pirateslair.net/LED.htm

They're rated at 35w.. 4000 lumens per bulb.. Plug-n-play. While they have the occasional LAMP dash light.. they've been virtually problem-free . That being said, in my never ending quest to find a brighter bulb for our customers I started talking with another vendor this last week . They sent me 2 samples to try.. One is a slightly brighter version of the bulbs we've been selling and another bulb which is 50w and 6000 lumens. (pictured)

I plugged it into my K1200S earlier and damn.. it's super freakin' bright.. Also plug-n-play and still fit in the oem housing behind the twist-on oem plastic cap. As it's snowing here, there's no chance of me taking it out on the road for a while, but I like what I see... The only real difference between the new bulb and the one's we've been selling is it's 50 watt and it's 4 sided as opposed to 2 sided.

My question to youz guyz...Does anyone here run 50watt LED bulbs in their bike? Any issues? Any feedback is welcome...

Hi Jerry,

Running the H7s you provided for the Mighty K1300S. The illumination is about all I think the headlamp can handle. The brightness spills out to the sides of the beams frontal reach.

I think the lens design doesn’t handle the beam focus for a better stream light reach as I need. Definitely an improvement, but anything brighter would just be a white-out for me.

During the workweek, I ride home at the Midnight hour and the H7 Bulbs are about all I can handle.

I too will be waiting to hear from the higher wattage users.
    “Someday this wars gonna end.” Col. Kilgore, Apocalypse Now.

Comment

• Pirate
      Pirate commented
      Editing a comment